About This Constituency

Ablekuma South is in the Greater Accra Region. It covers five electoral areas, namely: 

  • Korle Gonno.
  • Korlebu.
  • Chorkor.
  • Mamprobi.
  • New Mamprobi.
  • It was split into two constituencies in 2012 -Ablekuma South and Ablekuma West. 

Election History

Alfred Okoe Vanderpuye- Member of Parliament

The former Chief Executive of the Accra Metropolis, Alfred Oko Vanderpuye is the incumbent Member of Parliament. Until 2012, it was a stronghold of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).  It elected an NPP MP thrice from 1996 to 2008 before it was split into Ablekuma South and West (now an NPP stronghold). The constituency has since the split become an NDC stronghold. 

1996 : Theresah Ameley Tagoe

2000:  Theresah Ameley Tagoe

2004: Theresah Ameley Tagoe

2008:  Fredric Fritz Baffuour 

2012:  Fredric Fritz Baffuor

2016: Alfred Okoe Vanderpuye