About This Constituency

Ayawaso East is in the Greater Accra Region and covers some of the densely populated zongo communities in the country. It covers Nima, parts of Accra New Town and parts of Kanda. It was split into Ayawaso East and Ayawaso North in 2012. 

Election History

Nasser Mahama Toure-Member of Parliament

Ayawaso East has been a stronghold of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) since 1992. It is one of the constituencies in the Greater Accra Region that has consistently elected NDC MPs. 

1992: Yahaya Seidu

1996:  Farouk Brimah 

2000:  Mustapha Ahmed 

2004: Mustapha Ahmed

2008: Mustapha Ahmed 

2012: Nasser Mahama Toure

2016: Nasser Mahama Toure