About This Constituency

The Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency is among the oldest constituencies in Accra. Created in 1992, it covers East Legon, Airport Residential Area, Dzorwulu, Abelenkpe, parts of Tesano and Roman Ridge. It boundary constituencies are Ayawaso North, Ayawaso East, Ayawaso Central, and Okaikoi North. It is also the most affluent among the constituencies.

Election History

Lydia S. Alhassan – MP (NPP)

The Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency has never been a swing constituency. Since 1992, the jostling for the Ayawaso West Wuogon seat has been primarily between the NPP and NDC, with the former winning five times while the latter has won it twice. 

2019 (by-election): Lydia S. Alhassan (NPP)

2016: Emmanuel Kyeremateng (NPP)

2012:  Emmanuel Kyeremateng (NPP)

2008: Akosua Frema Osei-Opare (NPP)

2004: Akosua Frema Osei-Opare (NPP)

2000: George Isaac Amoo (NPP)

1996:  Rebecca A. Adotey (NDC)

1992: Francis Napoleon N. Kumah (NCP)